Joe Dyton

“Grey’s Anatomy” recap: “Beautiful Doom”

In Grey's Anatomy on November 19, 2012 at 3:09 pm

By Joe Dyton

I hope you all had a nice weekend and your day is off to a good start. I finally got around to watching Thursday’s episode of “Grey’s” over the weekend. I don’t have a ton to say, but I did have a couple thoughts.

*While I thought the episode itself was decent, what I really liked about it was how the writers “shortened the bench”, and focused primarily on Meredith and Cristina. I find sometimes there are “Grey’s” episodes that would be much improved if there was less going on. I’d be all for “Grey’s” going forward with focusing on two or three characters each week while others take a back seat like on Thursday. The key though is that the stronger core characters (Meredith, Cristina, Bailey, Richard, Derek, Alex) always have to be some of the characters that are part of the focus.  That’s why this most recent episode worked; an episode that focused on say, Jackson, Owen, April or the new interns wouldn’t be very interesting (at least to me).

*I feel like “Grey’s” has been so-so to start this season, but I was really starting to enjoy the show Cristina was on that took place at that Minnesota hospital. The best part of this season so far has been the relationship she formed with Dr. Thomas (William Daniels, who was excellent). Rather than “Private Practice”, I wish this had been the “Grey’s” spin-off; Cristina leaving Owen and Seattle behind to form an unlikely partnership in Minnesota with a wise, old doctor near the end of his career. Sadly, that’ll never happen since poor Dr. Thomas was killed off. The minute he started telling Cristina about the bright future she’s going to have, it was pretty clear he was a goner. At least he went out doing what he loved.

*Specific thoughts on the episode…Good, but not great…it was nice to see that Lexie and Mark haven’t been forgotten…I loved that Meredith thought fish sticks was a good contribution for Multi-Cultural Day at the hospital’s day care…I wasn’t a huge fan of Meredith and Cristina’s inner-dialogue…I did like how their surgeries were done side-by-side though…signs that Bailey is one of the best, if not the best, characters on the show; she had just two scenes and they were both good and impactful…I’ll miss seeing William Daniels on the show, he was great…it was nice to see Cristina back in Seattle again.

A couple more thoughts and I’m done…

*My apologies for not recapping the last two “Grey’s” episodes. I did watch them, but I didn’t have much to say. Going forward for episodes where I don’t have a ton of thoughts, I’ll just do short recaps like this one.

*I’m going to assume Meredith having the other docs pass Zola around like she was the Stanley Cup while she worked was more for comic relief and not foreshadowing that she’s going to have a tough time balancing being a surgeon and mom like her mother, Ellis did.

*Speaking of William Daniels, did you see there’ve been talks of a “Boy Meets World” sequel show called “Girl Meets World” that would focus on Cory and Topenga’s kid? Sign me up!

Joe Dyton is a marketing copywriter in Washington, DC, a freelance sports reporter for the Frederick News-Post in Frederick, MD host of the “This Week in TV with Joe Dyton” podcast and co-host of “The GD Podcast”. He can be reached at thedytonian@yahoo.com. Follow Joe on Twitter at http://twitter.com/dyton99.

Leave a Reply

