Joe Dyton

“Grey’s Anatomy” recap: “Unaccompanied Minor”

In Grey's Anatomy on May 23, 2011 at 7:25 pm
By Joe Dyton
 
Happy Monday! Wow, that just doesn’t have the same feel as TGIF!, does it? Well, I hope you had a nice weekend, and you’re having a nice day.
 
On Thursday, “Grey’s Anatomy” wrapped up it’s seventh season. I have to say, by “Grey’s” standards, the finale was kind of tame, wasn’t it? There was definitely some good fireworks between two of the show’s premiere couples, but besides that, it felt like any other episode of the show. I’d be hard pressed to say I was disappointed about that, but I was definitely surprised.
 
The episode started out with that explosive, “Grey’s” finale feel. When the Chief said there was a plane crash, and it was all hands on deck, I thought we were going to see patients being rushed in, doctors racing against the clock to save lives, you know, the works. Instead, the doctors were just standing around and realized there weren’t going to be any survirors. Fortunately, there turned out to be one, and that led to what was my favorite moment in the episode. I loved when all the families of deceased decided to stick around until the mom of the lone survivor made it to the hospital. It was a touching moment, for what was for the most part a throwaway of a storyline. This was the best the writers could do for the characters not named, Derek, Meredith, Cristina and Owen?
 
Speaking of which, let’s just jump into the two headlines of the episode. It’s been mentioned often in this space that Derek and Meredith had become boring since their Post-In note nuptials. Well, that’s done, at least for awhile. It would have been easy to shake things up between them by giving them a personal issue (Meredith having cold feet about being a mom, a pretty nurse with eyes for McDreamy, etc) to contend with. I like that the writers went the other way and made what’s tearing them apart a professinal conflict. I’m on Derek’s side with this one regarding his anger, but I think it’s silly to think he wouldn’t get back in touch with Meredith. Especially after he would have found out that they were able to take Zola home. I’d like to think he would have put his issues aside to help their daughter settle in to her new home. Sometimes I think writers don’t give the audience enough credit, “Derek’s angry at Meredith, but we’ll show them how angry he really is by having him sleep at the new house.” No, that’s OK, we get it, he’s angry. There was no need to push the envelope by having him not return Meredith’s messages regarding Zola. It’ll be interesting to see how much time will have passed when the season picks back up in September; that to me will determine where Derek and Meredith stand. If it’s only a few days, my guess is McDreamy will still be angry and sleeping under the stars.
 
Since Meredith and Derek had the professional agrument take care of, Cristina and Owen got to cover the personal fight portion of the program. So, Cristina is with child, but doesn’t want to be. Haven’t we seen this show before during late Season One/early Season Two with Burke instead of Owen? Despite this being a recycled storyline, Cristina and Owen’s back and forth was incredible to watch. Kevin McKidd and Sandra Oh really brought it. I was not surprised that Cristina didn’t want to keep it; there was no way Owen was winning that fight. I was shocked that he threw her out of the house though. After all of his, “Can’t we talk about this” pleading throughout the hour, he was quick to pull the trigger when Cristina told him what she wanted to do. I’m actually more interested to see whether Cristina changes her mind than what happens with Derek and Meredith to be honest.
 
As for the third major headline, April kind of won Chief Resident by default, right? After Jackson and Cristina dropped out, it was a three-horse race between April, Alex and Meredith. Once Alex tattled on Meredith, she was done and given Owen’s background and strong belief in character, there was no chance he was going to pick Alex. So, April gets the big job, which I don’t know if she’ll be able to handle. I feel she’s too nice and will get pushed around by the more assertive residents.
 
Other than that, there wasn’t much suspense throughout the episode. It was touching, although not surprising to see Teddy realize she had true feelings for her “husband”, Henry. It was also sweet for Lucy to ask Alex to ask her to stay, but that shipped had sailed the minute she took the job in Africa after he gave it up to be with her. No suprise that Alex told her where she could go for two reasons: a) like I said, she took the job he gave up to be with her and more importantly b) Rachel Taylor has been cast in the “Charlie’s Angels” remake, so she had to be written out of “Grey’s” eventually. As for Mark and Lexie, I thought Mark giving Jackson his blessing was noble if not a little odd, but just wake me when Mark and Lexie get back together, OK?. And lastly, way too little Bailey for my taste on Thursday. I did like that Eli stepped up and pushed until she agreed to let him be there for her, but the heart and soul of the show needs more than a scene or two. I won’t complain about Callie and Arizona more or less being window dressing, since they got their due for a couple of episodes prior to this.
 
*Line of the Night: “This isn’t pizza versus Thai.”
 
Honorable mentions:
 
-“It doesn’t mean you have to feed me warm milk and run me a bath.”
-“The next time you’re in a burning building, no one’s bringing you a glass of water.”
-“You wanna play Angry Birds?”
-“It was Adele’s.”
-“I probably owe him a goat.”
-“I would like to stay.”
-“Get out!”
 
So, overall a decent, but mainly uneventful finale. After last year’s explosive gunman two-hour finale, I guess I can let the powers that be slide on a more muted one this year. I guess all the creative energy was put into the big musical event episode. I’ll be interested to see how things between Meredith and Derek and Cristina and Owen play out, but other than that, I don’t see myself waiting for Season Eight with great anticipation.
 
I hope you all enjoyed the show and Season Seven. Enjoy the hiatus, and we’ll check back in September. 🙂
 
Joe Dyton is a marketing copywriter in Washington, DC and a freelance sports reporter for the Frederick News-Post in Frederick, MD. He is a former assistant editor for The Dealmakers real estate magazine in Hamilton, NJ and a former sports writer and copy editor for The Trentonian in Trenton, NJ. He can be reached at thedytonian@yahoo.com. Follow Joe on Twitter at http://twitter.com/dyton99.
Leave a Reply

