Joe Dyton

“Lost” recap: “LA X, Parts 1 and 2”

In Lost on February 5, 2010 at 4:44 pm

Well, after a seven-month wait (although it felt longer, didn’t it?), “Lost” finally came back. Around 8:45 last night, I could feel myself getting excited. I rushed around getting all of my nighttime chores (ironing, packing lunch, etc.) done before the show, so I could just hit the sack the minute the show was over (more on that later).

Anyway, I thought the premiere was more than worth the wait. I liked it a lot. It was well-written and all of the performances were great. I did find it funny that despite this being the final season where a lot of our questions will be answered; we were hit with a few more questions! I don’t think we need anymore questions and mysteries added to pile at this point. I guess though, that is what makes “Lost” “Lost”.

What I enjoyed most was the “What would have happened if they landed in LA” parallel storyline. When the episode opened with Jack on the plane, I couldn’t help but think, “Whoa, Jughead worked!” That thought was short-lived when Kate popped up in the next scene stuck in a tree with her ears ringing. I have to admit, I thought my TV volume was out of whack for a second. I couldn’t believe of all the times for my TV to go on the fritz, it would be during the most-anticipated season premiere for me this year. I realized quickly, it was Kate not my TV though. With Jack on Flight 815 and Kate back on the island, I couldn’t help but wonder if maybe the explosion displaced everyone, but that obviously wasn’t the case.

I hope that this parallel story runs all season, although I wonder how/if it’ll eventually tie into what’s going on at the island. Are the characters experiencing both stories, but not realizing it? It didn’t seem like Jack had any memory of the island when he was on the plane (what was going on with his neck?). Or is the parallel storyline just for the audiences benefit? Since this is “Lost” I doubt it; there has to be something bigger on going on there.

Speaking of Flight 815, one of my favorite moments was Boone’s conversation with Locke. I got a kick out of when Locke was telling him about his walkabout, Boone mentioned there was no way they’d survive a crash (obviously not true), he “would last two days without his cell phone” (again not true), and if they did crash, he was sticking with Locke (that’s exactly how it played out). Speaking of Boone, it was great to see him along with other characters we’d lost like Charlie and Claire. It’ll be interesting to see how Kate survives her life on the run and how the rest of the passengers deal with a non-crash life.

One final thought on the Flight 815 stuff before I tackle the island action; I liked the introduction scene between Jack and Locke and what looked to me like a mentality flip-flop. During their time on the island, Locke was always the “Man of Faith” while Jack was the “Man of Science”. During that scene however, Locke proclaimed his condition was irreversible, but Jack told him nothing was irreversible. It’s as if the island changed their outlook on life; don’t forget Jack never gave up faith that he could fix the patient who turned out to be his wife. I’m not sure island-Jack would have even tried.

Alright, I’ll try to write a little tighter about the island on the action. I was happy to see Juliet survived, at least long enough for her to bid farewell to Sawyer before she passed. I was actually a little surprised that she died; I knew she wasn’t going to be on the show full-time this season, but I thought I read she was going to be guest-starring a bit. I guess she’ll be doing flashback and Flight 815 parallel scenes? Either way, the one positive from Juliet’s death is it will reignite the Sawyer-Jack feud. I didn’t mind it when they started to get along, but for entertainment value, the show was more interesting when they were at each other’s throats.

It was also great to see Hurley in a sort of leadership role last night. He can be quite authoritative when he has to be. I was happy to finally see what the heck was in that guitar case; although, I want to know what fully was written on that paper. There had to be more than just they needed to revive Sayid. Speaking of which, how the heck did he rise from the dead? That’s just one of many questions I have from that entire temple storyline.

I thought the other temple storyline was good too. It was nice after six years, that we know “Smokey” is actually Jacob’s rival, the Man in Black. At least it appears to be. I wonder if Richard will begin to age now that Jacob is no longer with us. And where is the Man in Black carrying Richard to after that beating he gave him? Did anyone else find it strange to see Terry O’Quinn go from playing the gentle Locke to such a mean-spirited, violent character. I don’t think I’ve seen an actor to have to make such a drastic switch in character so late in a series. It should be interesting the rest of the way; I just hope I can wrap my head around it.

Alright, a few burning questions I have from last night and I’m finished…

*So, what the heck was that temple about? Who were its inhabitants? How did Sayid survive? What did they mean about th water not being clear?

*What did the deceased Juliet mean when she “told” Miles, “It worked.”? If the explosion worked, how are they still on the island and back on their flight from six years ago? Are we looking at two different universes/alternate realities?

*Was Sun’s not wanting Jin to find out she spoke English worth having him possibly get arrested?

*How does Oceanic not know where Jack’s dad’s body is? If it wasn’t on the plane, wouldn’t it be at the airport in Sydney?

I think that’s all I’ve got right now; or at least all I can think of. 🙂 Overall, I think the show is off to a good start. I just hope there aren’t any more two-hour airings until the finale. As I get older, making it to 11 is getting to be more of a challenge. It’s especially challenging when I’m watching a show like “Lost” where you have to pay attention to every detail. I almost wish ABC showed the recap last week and aired last night’s premiere from 8-10. Anyway, if my biggest complaint was that the show ran past my bedtime, I guess it was a good show.

Until next time…

Joe Dyton is a marketing copywriter in Washington, DC. He is a former assistant editor for The Dealmakers real estate magazine in Hamilton, NJ and a former sports writer and copy editor for The Trentonian in Trenton, NJ. He can be reached at thedytonian@yahoo.com. Follow Joe on Twitter at http://twitter.com/dyton99.

Leave a Reply

