Joe Dyton

“Grey’s Anatomy” recap: “Give Peace a Chance”

In Grey's Anatomy on November 6, 2009 at 7:52 pm

Last night we got another “Grey’s” episode that featured predominately one storyline. And once again, the show delivered. I can’t think of a better character to center an episode around than McDreamy. Patrick Dempsey was great last night. It was a nice change of pace seeing Derek have a storyline that didn’t directly involve his relationship with Meredith. As a neuro surgeon, there are so many interesting medical cases that can be explored with his character, and I was glad the writers took advantage of that last night.

I honestly can’t think of anything I disliked about the show. Like I mentioned, Derek was great. I loved how he went “rouge” to help a colleague. I loved how excited he was at the prospect of this surgery when he was talking to Meredith; the drawing on the wall was fantastic. I even enjoyed the contest he held to see who would assist him. He was asked to carry the load in this episode, and he delivered. Outside of McDreamy-world, I thought the episode was good. Lexie and her diaper-wearing ways was hilarious. The shot of her and Cristina both wearing diapers under their scrubs was too funny for words.

I also liked how the side-side-side storyline of Alex trying to track down Izzie was handled well. It would have been monotonous to focus the whole 60 minutes on Derek’s case (although I’m sure there are plenty of people who wouldn’t mind a whole episode of Patrick Dempsey J), so a secondary storyline was needed. With McDreamy working such a big surgery, a complementary story had to be something relevant, but not too important that it would get lost in the shadow of the main storyline. The Alex trying to find Izzie plot was perfect. We’ve seen it too many times where episodes have included a really good storyline that got lost in the shuffle with a major plot. It happened just a few weeks ago, when Callie’s dad came to confront her the same day Mercy West invaded Seattle Grace. Anyway, I’m glad they got it right this time.

If I had to nitpick anything, it would have be the believability of Derek openly defying the Chief. I know he wanted to help Issac (who I loved by the way), but in what world someone openly go against what their boss said, especially in a field as serious as medicine? Even worse was that the other attendings were covering for him! Again, this was just a nitpick; when it comes to a show like this we have to expand our believability at times. Heck, I do it every week when I watch “24.” The whole episode, I couldn’t help but wonder if the Chief was going to be tempted to fire Derek. Sure enough he did, although we know that won’t stick, even it that would have been an interesting wrinkle.

So overall, good episode and I can’t wait to see what is in store for next week. This season has been great so far. It’s still too early to say “Grey’s” is back to first and second-season form, but the show is on it’s way.

Here are a couple other random thoughts I had about last night…

*I liked that that the Seattle Grace, Mercy West “us vs. them” stuff was toned down a bit. It was dragging down the show a bit. We got some with Jackson and Lexie vying for Derek’s services and a little with Alex and Reed (who was honestly just trying to be nice), but for the most part it was nice to watch Seattle Grace to work as one.

*As much as I questioned how realistic it was earlier, I did like Derek’s bravado in this episode. He was doing that surgery and he didn’t care about anything else. I loved when the Chief fired him and he used Issac’s line from earlier, “Go home, sleep on it and we’ll talk more tomorrow.” Classic! I also liked that Derek got to do the voiceover. I always enjoy it when someone takes the reigns from Meredith.
*I loved the surgery scene itself. It was edge-of-your-seat intense. The music was great and I loved that Cristina was giving Meredith play-by-play updated via her cel phone. I’d say it was a successful directorial debut for Chandra Wilson (Bailey). Hopefully she’ll get to direct more episodes in the future. Normally, I complain when there’s not enough Bailey, but it was understandable last night. I did love her scene when she warned Derek that the Chief would be across the hall.

*I also enjoyed Justin Chambers’ performance. He’s done an amazing job making the Alex character evolve. My heart broke for him at the end of the episode when Izzie didn’t show up for her appointment. Which raises an interesting question; where was Izzie? Did she honestly blow off her appointment? Did she go to another hospital to avoid seeing Alex?

*I can’t wait for the writers to pull the Chief to other side of this dark tunnel he’s been in for the last season and half. They’ve ruined this character for me. Even Derek mentioned that he’s changed.

*Lines of the Night:

“Be inspired.” 

“Your wife is dead. As soon as her liver grows back, she’s dead.”

“She may be a crappy wife, but she’s not stupid.”

“Screw the shark, let’s operate on that.”

“Way to go, 2.”

“Since when did Richard become your BFF?”

“Get your rogue on.”

“Lexie gets to (go) in a diaper, and I don’t.”

“Deal with it, diaper genie.”

Joe Dyton is a marketing copywriter in Washington, DC. He is a former assistant editor for The Dealmakers real estate magazine in Hamilton, NJ and a former sports writer and copy editor for The Trentonian in Trenton, NJ. He can be reached at thedytonian@yahoo.com. Follow Joe on Twitter at http://twitter.com/dyton99.

 

Leave a Reply

