Joe Dyton

“Grey’s Anatomy” recap: “I Saw What I Saw”

In Grey's Anatomy on October 28, 2009 at 2:15 pm

Editor’s Note:  Sorry for the delay in posting my “Grey’s” recaps: The post below recaps the Oct. 22 episode, “I Saw What I Saw”.

**

I watched Thursday’s episode last night during commercial breaks of the Yankees game. Wow, do I love the DVR. Anyway, I loved the episode. I think I actually liked how the episode was done more than the actual episode, but I thought it was all good. I really liked the “Rashomon”-style of story-telling. One of my favorite episodes of “Dawson’s Creek” (“The Longest Day”) was done in this format. For the sake of the plot, trying to find out who was responsible for losing an ER patient, I thought this style of writing was the way to go.

As I’ve said in the past, I think the best “Grey’s” episodes are the ones with fewer storylines. Thursday’s show basically had one story with a few underlying ones, which is part of the reason I thought it was so good. There was nothing goofy going on to detract from the solid stories. All the docs were focused on the task at hand. The challenge here is when there’s only one storyline, the writers better make sure it’s darn interesting because there’s nothing else for the audience to focus on. If the storyline stinks, the episode is doomed, but the whodunit story that was put into action on Thursday was top-notch. Bravo to writers’ room on this one.

Since there was only one main plot, I can’t really go into a bunch of bullets about what I did and didn’t like about Thursday’s show. I will say that I liked the structure of the episode very much. I also enjoyed the “interrogation” scenes with each doctor; I liked trying to solve the mystery along with the Chief, the HR rep and the board member. One of my favorite scenes came at the end when April was fired and Cristina of all people stood up for her when the other docs were bad-mouthing her. I felt Cristina speaking up there was the first step to bridging the gap between the Seattle Grace and Mercy West residents. But my favorite scene of all was at the very end when Derek was completely honest with the Chief about how flawed his system is. That’s why I picked the line I did. Derek was right; the whole situation was a mess; and it was the end result of the system Richard put into place.

There wasn’t much I disliked about the episode. The one thing I’d like to point out is we’ve had two firings in the last two weeks. Didn’t “House” do something like this a season or two ago, where they let doctors go every week until they got down to their current cast like it was “American Idol”? I don’t watch that show, but I thought I remember hearing about that. I’m just wondering if we should prepare ourselves for more firings as the season goes along. I could have lived without having to see the axe come out of the fireman and blood starting spouting out like a busted pipe, but other than that, I don’t have too many complaints. It would have been nice to have more Bailey, but she made the most with the time that she had. Also, I know Katherine Heigl is going to be in and out filming her movie, but couldn’t we have had a better explanation for her absence than her just leaving Alex a Dear John letter and then going AWOL? I know that led to Alex’s mental state to make him a suspect last night, but still. Honestly, I’m just nitpicking, this was a very good episode.

Here are a few random thoughts…

*After April got fired, I couldn’t help but wonder, what happens to a doctor after something like that? Are they able to find work? If I messed up here and got let go, I’m pretty sure I could find another job. But a doctor’s job is life and death, if he or she makes a mistake like April did that killed a patient, why would another hospital want to hire her? I’ve always been curious about that.

*I liked the misdirect with Alex’s blood donation. Earlier in the episode, it looked like he donated blood and lied to the Chief about it. That was very well-done.

*I never thought I’d say it, but I kind of miss having Meredith in the day-to-day flow of things.

*Some may think Arizona was mean to Lexie, but I liked her “Suck it up and lend a hand” speech. Arizona has really grown on me.

 *Line of the Night: “You should look again at who was responsible.”

*Honorable mentions for “Line of the Night”:

-“We need more uses”

-“(He) better have a brain tumor or something, because that’s unacceptable.”

-“In retrospect, I should have had a cookie.”

-“Nosedive, that’s gonna stick.”

-“He was no toddler, he was five.”

Joe Dyton is a marketing copywriter in Washington, DC. He is a former assistant editor for The Dealmakers real estate magazine in Hamilton, NJ and a former sports writer and copy editor for The Trentonian in Trenton, NJ. He can be reached at thedytonian@yahoo.com. Follow Joe on Twitter at http://twitter.com/dyton99.

  1. interesting points that you have rised that people don’t often think about whilst watching the series!

  2. Hi Vixstar,

    Thanks for the feeback. I hope you enjoyed the recap.

    Thank you for reading The Dytonian!

    -Joe

Leave a Reply

