Joe Dyton

“Entourage” recap: “Running on E”

In Entourage on August 5, 2009 at 3:00 pm

Wow.

They sure packed a lot into that half hour didn’t they? On this week’s episode of “Entourage,” We saw Vince’s movie get delayed three months, Drama test drive love interests for his show, E shut down the Murphy Group, Turtle go back-to-school shopping, Andrew leave his wife and a hilarious David Schwimmer cameo. I needed to catch my breath after the show was over. That is a rarity for a 30-mintue show; especially this 30-minute show.

There was some good stuff in this episode, but like most “Entourage” episodes, there were some less than stellar material too. Let’s get the less-than-stellar things out of the way.

I know every character can’t have a compelling storyline every week, but it didn’t get much lower or less interesting than watching Jamie-Lynn and Turtle go shopping for school clothes for him. Couldn’t we have just had Drama mock Turtle about Jamie-Lynn taking him shopping like he did in the beginning of the episode and then seen Turtle walking out of the mall with shopping bags when Drama asked him for his favor (more on that later)? The audience would get the point that he went shopping without having to actually sit through it. Although, I did like the Chuck Bass reference Turtle made about one of his outfits. I just wonder how many “Entourage” fans watch “Gossip Girl” and got that joke.

The only other thing I didn’t like about the episode was Ashley. I’m not sure what E really sees in her. Sure she’s cute, but she isn’t very nice (Did she honestly refer to E’s receptionist Jane as a “fossil”?) and I thought E enjoyed playing the field. Ashley just seems like a bizarre choice to close the field with.

Speaking of closing, I was surprised and disappointed that E gave up the Murphy Group. One of the things I was most looking forward to was watching E continue to build that business and work with other clients beside Vince. It looked like he was on the right path with Charlie and the “Nine Brave Souls”/”Smoke Jumpers” screenwriters Nick and LB. If feels like he’s back at square one again.

As for the things I did like, I grow more and more interested in the Andrew/Ari saga as the weeks go by. I think partly because when Ari wanted to buy Andrew’s company, Babs warned him that Andrew was a loser. When Ari gave Andrew the advice to think about his kids and how they wouldn’t want a liar for a dad, I didn’t think he’d take that it to mean leave his wife. That seemed like a rash decision. And what’s worse, Andrew’s decision looks like it’s left Ari in Mrs. Ari’s doghouse. I can’t imagine that’s a fun place to be.

Of course what led to Andrew’s decision was my second favorite part of the episode. The hilarious David Schwimmer cameo. It looks like the alleged chemistry Andrew saw between the former “Friends” star and the object of his affection, Lizzie was too much for him to handle. Anyway, I thought Schwimmer was great. His reactions to the horrific sit-com ideas he was being pitched were fantastic. I’m not sure which one I liked better, his reaction to the family boating show (…or I could shoot myself in the f**king face) or the “Neurosis” pitch (“Do you guys validate?”). I didn’t have high expectations when I heard he was going to be on the show, but I thought he nailed it.

And finally, I loved seeing Johnny Drama back at the forefront on Sunday. I got a kick out of watching him try to find a love interest for his show and how upset he got when he found out they were all models and not actresses (“They could be outperformed by lint.”). But what made Drama’s storyline my favorite was his scene with Ed Burns. I couldn’t believe he thought they could get Natalie Portman or Rachel McAdams to do one scene on an NBC drama. It was great to see Burns put Johnny in his place and tell him he was living in a dream world.

Luckily Drama was able to find a name actress to do the scene with him—Jamie-Lynn. I hope we get to see these two on set together. I think it would be a great dynamic for the show to see Turtle reacting to Johnny kissing his girlfriend, acting or no acting. Putting two of the guys at odds would be a fresh path for the show to take, but my guess is the writers won’t go there. I hope I’m wrong.

What did you think of the episode? Did you enjoy Vince discovering Facebook? Where do you think E will land up? Will Turtle really be OK with Drama locking lips with Jaime-Lynn? How long will Ari pay for Andrew’s sins? Comment below!

Joe Dyton is a marketing copywriter in Washington, DC. He is a former assistant editor for The Dealmakers real estate magazine in Hamilton, NJ and a former sports writer and copy editor for The Trentonian in Trenton, NJ. He can be reached at thedytonian@yahoo.com. Follow Joe on Twitter at http://twitter.com/dyton99.

Leave a Reply

