Joe Dyton

Lost thoughts: The Incident

In Lost on May 15, 2009 at 7:11 pm

Hello Losties!

Well, Wednesday night, we were treated to two-hour Season Five finale of “Lost,” which I thought  was pretty good. It was definitely more action packed than last week’s episode, which makes sense. Last week’ show set ‘em up, and last night’s knocked ‘em down.

 I was glad that we finally got see Jacob, but I was disappointed that we didn’t get to find out more about him. It would have been nice to know how and why he interacted with “Katie,” James (Sawyer), Locke, Sayid, Sun, Jin, Jack and Hurley in the past. I found it interesting that he seemed ageless like Richard Alpert. I honestly didn’t think that Ben would go through with killing him like Locke asked him to. But, once Jacob asked Ben, “What about you?”, I figured that would push Ben over the edge and Jacob was cooked (Literally cooked! I can’t believe Locke kicked him into the fire). With a whole season to go, do we really think we’ve seen the last of Jacob?

 While it was great to see Locke and Ben finally meet Jacob, I enjoyed the “30 years ago” storyline more than the present day one. I was very intrigued by the Jack’s plan to set off “Jughead.” I guess our question about how Sawyer, Juliet and Kate were going to get off the island was answered pretty quickly. I have to admit, I kind of like tough, aggressive Juliet. That was quite a kick and punch combo she used to help them escape. I couldn’t believe Sayid got shot, but I did enjoy the gunfights, especially the second one. It was nice to see them all working together.

Was there a more awkward pause than when Jack dropped the bomb down the hole and nothing happened? I found it comical when everyone closed their eyes expecting the worst, and the kaboom never came. Sawyer said it best, “This doesn’t look like LAX.” Speaking of Sawyer, my favorite scene of the episode was when he was trying to save Juliet from falling in with the debris. I know he’s told Juliet that he loves her before, but last night was the first time I could really see it. What a heartbreaking moment that was.

And just when it looked like Jack’s plan was much ado about nothing, Juliet finally gave the bomb enough whacks for it to finally explode. What happened after that? I guess we’ll have to wait until 2010. I can’t help but wonder if rather than the explosion sending them back to their flight to LA, if they’ll just end up on the island, but in present day with Locke, Sun and the others. I wonder if that’s what Jacob meant when he said to Locke during his last moments, “They’re coming.”

While I liked the ‘70s side better last night, there was some intrigue us 30 years in the future. How about the Flight 316 crew (remember them?) delivering Richard a cargo box with Locke’s dead body in it? Huh??? Who the heck was meeting with Jacob? Is Locke truly dead and the person leading the Others is just a figment of everyone’s imagination like Jack’s father is? Or is the Locke beneath the statue Locke for a different time like when he was watching himself give Richard the compass last week? That scene blew my mind. I was worried we weren’t going to get to see what was in that box. Other than that though, I thought that part of the episode was pretty vanilla. It was just a lot of walking around, but seeing that Locke truly is deceased, but alive at the same time and Ben stabbing Jacob more than made up for the rather lackluster future parallel universe.

 Here are a few other things I enjoyed about last night:

*That we got to see Rose, Bernard and Vincent again. They looked so at peace in their beachfront retirement home.

*Although it wasn’t explained, I liked Jacob’s interactions with a lot of the characters. Especially young Kate and Sawyer. I also love that Kate tried to steal a New Kids on the Block lunchbox. That was classic.

*Everything Locke. He cracks me up with his no-nonsense comments. He really grabbed that leadership role by the horns, didn’t he?

 As for what I didn’t enjoy:

*Jack and Sawyer beating the snot out of each other. Also, I don’t think Jack would stand a chance against Sawyer in a fistfight.

*Watching poor Sayid’s wife become a hit-and-run victim. Not good times.

*Being teased about a wedding scene only for it to be Sun and Jin’s. Although Sun made a very beautiful bride.

 A couple of random things…

 *Exchange of the night: Locke: Mind if I ask you a question? Ben: I’m a Pieces.

*I thought young Juliet looked more like a young Claire.

*It was cool seeing the full statue in the beginning of the episode. I wonder what’s happened to it over the years.

 Burning questions:

*How is Locke dead and alive at the same time?

*What does lie beneath the shadow of the statue?

*What happened after the explosion?

 Well, I hope you all enjoyed the episode and this season. I can’t believe next year is it!

 Have a question, comment or criticism for Joe? Contact him at thedytonian@yahoo.com.

  1. The present day Locke is not really Locke. It is that guy with brown hair and beard that Jacob is talking to in the beginning of the episode on the beach. He obviously can manifest people. I am still trying to figure out if the smoke monster is Jacob or the other guy, or both…and trying to figure out who is on who’s side… I need to rewatch the series….yet again, lol.

Leave a Reply

