Joe Dyton

Grey’s Anatomy recap: “What a Difference a Day Makes”

In Grey's Anatomy on May 8, 2009 at 3:49 pm

Last night, corks were popped and the champagne was flowing as “Grey’s” Anatomy celebrated its 100th episode. It’s amazing to think how far this show as come. When it started back in March of 2005, it was just this mid-season placement hospital show with a largely unknown cast with the exception of Patrick Dempsey and Sandra Oh (back then, at least to me, Ellen Pompeo was “Luke Wilson’s love interest in “Old School,” and Katherine Heigl was “the girl from ‘My Father, the Hero and ‘Roswell’”. Now “Grey’s” is a primetime phenomenon. I almost didn’t give this show a second look after watching the pilot episode, but I’m glad I decided to watch it again the following week. I’m hooked on this show and will watch every episode until it goes off of the air, no matter how silly it can be sometimes.

OK, enough reflecting, let’s take a look at last night’s show. I thought it was very good. I mean, it’s very tough to top a surprise, emotional wedding, learning a character’s life or death fate and watching doctors scramble madly in the ER to save as many car accident victims as possible. I can’t help but think if the penultimate episode of the season has such high-stakes storylines going on, I can only imagine how good next week’s two-hour finale is going to be. But, let’s focus on the good from last night’s show shall we?

There was very little to dislike about last night. I thought the wedding scene (the highlight of the show, if not the series) was exceptionally well done. And as much as we all wanted to see McDreamy and Meredith finally tie the knot, I can appreciate what they did for Alex and Izzie. With Izzie not knowing how much time she has left, it was great that they gave her and Alex their day. I mean, it was Izzie’s dream wedding after all. Shouldn’t she be the one to walk down the aisled? Besides, that wedding wasn’t really Derek and Meredith’s style anyway. I thought Meredith put it best when she told Cristina she wasn’t looking forward to the wedding as much as was the marriage. It is me or has the future Dr. Grey-Shepherd taken some big strides in the maturity department this season?

 I thought the storyline building up the big wedding was also very good and exciting. Watching Dr. Hunt and Co. try to save the college kids that got in the car accident was quite a thrill. “Grey’s” doesn’t usually treat us to hectic ER scenes like that. It was a nice change of pace. My only issue with that story was the placement. As much as I enjoyed the fast pace and excitement, I wish it wasn’t the lead-in the wedding scene. In any other episode, it would have been fine, but the last thing I wanted to see while anticipating (originally) Derek and Meredith getting hitched is a ton of doom and gloom. I mean blood and guts everywhere, kids dying left and right, actually having to watch them get zipped up in body bags, it was too much! This was supposed to be a happy day! I guess from an artistic standpoint, the viewers’ reward for having to deal with so much trauma was the wedding, but still. I would have much rather seen that storyline in just about any other episode this season, with the exception of “Elevator Love Letter” when McDreamy proposed to Meredith. I mean, wouldn’t the ER stuff made for great season finale material?

 Alright, let’s dig a little deeper in to the big 100th

 *Here’s what I liked about last night:

 *The wedding. What more can I say? Well, I guess I can say what I liked about the wedding. Like…

 -The fact that Derek and Meredith gave up their day for Alex and Izzie. What a great idea by Bailey!

-Meredith’s “this isn’t my dress” scene. How great was it when Izzie asked whose dress it was and Alex popped in the door in a tux? Talk about characters growing up this season! Alex has been great.

-I also loved the pre-wedding scene with Izzie, Meredith and Cristina when Izzie assigned Meredith as best man (hilarious) and Cristina as her maid of honor, which led to one of the best and most heartfelt “Grey’s” exchanges ever: Cristina: “So what am I, leftovers?” Izzie: “You tried to save my life. That makes you honorable.”

-George helping a visibly weak Izzie get down the aisle. I mean, was there anyone more appropriate to give her away? He probably should have walked her down the aisle from the get-go. I loved the handshake and exchanged looks of respect George and Alex gave to one another.

-I was a little torn on Alex’s vows. They were delivered well and were heartfelt, but they felt a little hollow since he took them from the one girl’s graduation speech. At the same time, I felt like he was honoring her in a way, so I didn’t mind it too much. Heck, it’s supposed to be a joyous occasion, I’ll give Alex a “Thumbs Up” for his vows.

 *Meredith’s solo surgery. What a great and original wedding gift from McDreamy. And it looks like she nailed it. What made this scene great was the Chief’s hovering. I thought that was very funny. I also got a kick out of McSteamy picking that time to give his “you better be good to my best friend” speech.

 *The bond forming between George and Dr. Hunt. It seems like the guys Cristina falls for want to take George under his wing, don’t they? First Burke and now Owen? Anyway, I loved the pep talk Owen gave George after he was feeling down on himself about losing so many of those car accident patients. It looks like he’s fully paved George’s career path towards trauma.

 *As for what I didn’t like…

 *The graphic scenes in the ER. Like I mentioned before, I loved the storyline and the high stakes medical stuff that was going on, but I could have lived without seeing blood squirt out of bodies like a leaky faucet and a girl’s internal organs. What was this, “Saving Private Ryan”??? I yelped out aloud during the close-up of the girl’s stomach. Ugh.

 *Waaay too much Callie and Arizona. I feel for Callie, I really do. She’s broke (which I still don’t understand. I know her father cut off her funding, but she mentioned he cleaned out her bank account. Isn’t some of that money what she earned from working??), and she can’t afford to go to fancy restaurants with Arizona. But we didn’t need this storyline, not last night. Not on a night when Izzie found out she does have a brain tumor, there was a wedding to be celebrated and a very busy day in the ER going on. Did anyone else groan when Arizona was yelling at Callie about their relationship when Callie was trying run the ER? These are the situations where the writers need to step back and say, “Wait a second, would an attending physician really bother another doctor in a busy ER to talk about their relationship issues?” I’d buy that scene if Arizona wasn’t a doctor and didn’t know any better, but there’s no way she does something like that being a doctor herself.

 *Seeing Denny again. I thought we were past this, but I guess without Izzie hallucinating again, Derek and Bailey never would have found the tumor. I did find it interesting that when Izzie was calling for him and he showed up, Denny said, “I’m here for you, Izzie.” Did he mean he was there for her in support, or was he there for her in a grim reaper kind of way to take her to the other side? It can’t be a coincidence that he was dressed all in black every time he came on the screen. If Izzie does opt for surgery next wee and makes it, I hope the Denny sightings are over. It’s time to move on.

 OK this ran a little long, so a few more random thoughts, and I’m finished…

 *Honorable mentions for “Line of the Week.”

-“We’re getting married tonight.” 

-“Because you wanted to get your freak on with Rollerskate Girl.”

-“I don’t want to be his best man a third time, if you know what I mean.”

-“I was out $75 and I don’t even like salad.”

-“Best non-wedding day ever.”

 *I know Meredith and Derek are doctors, so being at the hospital constantly comes with the territory, but I plan to be nowhere near my office on my wedding day.

 *I also wanted to mention, I liked Cristina showing her commitment to Dr. Hunt by hammering down the ceiling fan. Hopefully those two will hammer out any remaining issues in next week’s finale and hit the ground running with a solid relationship next season.

 *It seems “Grey’s” creator Shonda Rhimes no longer has the series ending mapped out in her head. Check out this article, courtesy of TVGuide.com:

http://www.tvguide.com/News/Greys-Anatomy-finale-1005877.aspx

 *Chyler Leigh (Lexie) had her baby yesterday. Her new daughter’s name is Anniston Kae.

 Well, I think that’s all that I have. I hope you all enjoyed the 100th episode as well. Have a great day and a wonderful weekend.

Have a comment, question or  criticism for Joe? Contact him at thedytonian@yahoo.com.

Leave a Reply

