Joe Dyton

24 recap: “6 p.m.-7 p.m./7 p.m.-8 p.m.”

In 24 on March 5, 2009 at 1:34 pm

I know it may be a bold statement, but I have to say I think the second hour of Monday’s “24” might have been the best of the series. I was on the edge of my seat the entire time. I could go on forever about how much I liked the show, but I won’t. Instead, I’ll just hit on the highlights. There are several, so before I get to them, I want to talk about only thing that bothered me.

 

I have to give Fox’s promo department a big thumbs down for giving away Juma’s target during the scenes for next week at the end of last Monday’s show. How much more fun and suspenseful would last night’s episode been if we didn’t know what the target was until Renee flipped to that last blueprint? The sad thing is, Fox has been doing that with “24” for years. Maybe I’ll have to take a page out of other fans’ playbook and turn off the TV once the episode is over and skip the previews. They’ve dropped the ball before, but not like this. The whole episode was based around finding the target; part of being in the know was fine, but I think I would have enjoyed it more if we were in dark along with the FBI.

 

So, that was my lone gripe about the episode. Otherwise, it was excellent as this whole season has been. Here are some of the things I liked in particular:

 

*Seeing Tony again. I know he’d only been gone for a few episodes (save the last couple minutes of last week), but it felt like he’d been out of play longer than that. If I could change one thing, it would be that Tony was in the White House helping Jack. It’s fun watching those two kick butt and take names. Unfortunately, Tony is a “wanted felon” as Jack put it, so he had to wait in the car.

 

*Speaking of Jack kicking butt, it was a hoot watching him do it in the White House of all places. The man has no boundaries, I tell you. I just hated to see him have to take down his buddy Bill in the process. I do give Jack credit for doing it so Bill didn’t have to get involved in any illegal doings.

 

*How about the “Special Appearance” by Mr. Jon Voight? He was great last night! I enjoyed watching him casually eat Chinese food as the White House was being taken over, then calmly tell Juma how to get President Taylor to come out of her panic room (hold her daughter hostage) and then proceed to play darts. It was all in a day’s work for this season’s resident bad guy. Although, what is Juma shipping him that’s so valuable he’d betray his country?

 

*I also enjoyed watching Agent Pierce do everything he could to protect Allison’s daughter. I’m so happy that he was brought back this season. If I were ever in a position where I needed a bodyguard, I’d want Agent Pierce protecting me.

 

The more I think about it, there were a couple more I didn’t like about the episode. For example…

 

*Isn’t it about time everyone started trusting Jack and his methods? They’re unconventional yes, but he gets results. If he hadn’t been interrupted during his interrogation of Senator Mayer’s aide, he probably would have found out the target, and the Secret Service would have been better prepared. Instead he was locked up while an invasion of the White House was about to take place. Speaking of Senator Mayer…

 

*What a killjoy this guy is, huh? Even after Jack saved thousands of lives, the guy still won’t give him a break. Then he has the gall to yell at him for letting President Taylor out of the lockdown despite the fact that Juma was ready to cut out the President’s daughter’s eyeballs. I think it would be great if Jack ends up saving Senator Mayer down the line using his “questionable” methods. Then I’d like to see what he has to say.

 

*I also hated to see Chloe get into trouble for helping Jack. It probably wasn’t in her best interest to wipe a name off of that list, but Jack can be very convincing when he needs something. And Chloe always has his back, so it was no surprise she went through with it. I was liking Janis until she went out of her way to rat out Chloe. It wasn’t like she just overheard Chloe and Jack’s phone call, she had the call descrambled. Doesn’t she have better things to do than figuring out what Chloe is up to? I guess after finding out her co-worker Sean was a traitor, she figured she can’t be too careful. And finally…

 

*I thought Dubaku’s death would have been a little more ceremonious. He wrecked havoc on the U.S. for a better part of the day, and he dies of a heart attack via a lethal injection? Seriously, that’s the best the writers could come up with? I would have much rather seen him brought to justice, or if he had to die, it would have been better if he had gone down guns a blazing; not in a hospital bed at the hands of one of Juma’s men. I just felt that was a letdown.

 

So, those were just a few of my thoughts about this solid two-hour episode of “24.” Despite my disappointment in knowing what the target was going to be going in, I do have to say bravo to Fox for doing a two-hour showing. I don’t think I would have been able to wait all week for the 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. hour.

 

What did you think of the episode? How do you think Jack and Co. will get out of this jam? According to next week’s promos, it looks like goody two shoes Larry Moss may go against orders and lead a rescue mission into the White House. Will he actually go through with it? Comment below!

 

Have a comment, question or criticism for Joe? Contact him at thedytonian@yahoo.com.

Leave a Reply

