Joe Dyton

“Lost” thoughts: “316”

In Lost on February 20, 2009 at 3:45 am

After last week’s so-so episode of “Lost,” I was hoping for much better things last night, and the show didn’t disappoint. Last night’s episode, “316,” was pretty good. I had no problem with the whole episode taking place off of the island, save the very beginning and the very end of the episode. I felt the Oceanic 6 had been getting the short end of the screen time stick this season (it was inexplicable that they were 100% absent in the “Jughead” episode), so it was nice to see them at forefront last night.

There wasn’t anything I disliked about the episode. I’m all about plot development in TV shows, and last night we didn’t get much, but we got a huge development with Hurley, Jack and Kate making it back to the island. That was such a big event, I’d feel greedy wishing that something else occurred during the hour. Plus, we did get to find out a few other things, but of course at 10:00 last night, I was left with a lot of questions. But, it wouldn’t be a good episode of “Lost” if we didn’t have questions at the end of it, right?

 Here are a few other things I enjoyed about last night’s show:

 *The homage paid to the pilot episode. I loved that the episode started just like the first one; with Jack opening his eyes, laying in the wild, wearing a suit with a coffin in tow. It came as no surprise to me that an episode that opened like that was written by “Lost” show runners Carlton Cuse and Damon Lindelof. I was just happy Jack had an easier time getting the airline to put Locke’s body on board than he did trying to board his father’s on Oceanic 815.

 *The Jack and Kate reunion. I’m a sucker for the Jack-Kate pairing more so than Kate and Sawyer. Although, she seemed a little cold to him the following day. Maybe she feels guilty about whatever happened to Aaron. I also found it weird that she was making such an effort to keep herself hidden at the airport.

 *I loved Hurley buying the remaining 78 seats on the plane to keep those passengers safe. It’s a total Hurley move.

 *Ms. Hawking’s island history lesson. Finally, after four-plus seasons, we get some insight into what exactly this island is! That back room was so cool, I felt like they were in the Batcave. I found it interesting that the island is constantly moving through time, which is why no one ever found them. I just assumed it would move when the wheel was turned.

 *The return of Lapidus. How great was it that he was flying their plane? I loved that once he saw all the familiar faces all he could say was, “We’re not going to Guam , are we?”

 Burning questions for last night:

 *What does the island still want with Desmond?
*Where is Aaron?

*Who told Hurely and Sayid about the flight?

*What happened to Ben?

*When did they land? (I feel it has to be in the past after seeing Jin in the Dharma van and jumpsuit.)

 Random thoughts:

 *I didn’t think the writers picked the flight no. 316 out of thin air, so my guess is it’s in reference to the biblical John 3:16 (the Gospel of John) because of Locke’s presence on the plane. It kind of makes sense after seeing this quote from that verse, For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” Locke believed in the island, so maybe it too will give him everlasting life. And trust me, I didn’t come up with this off the top of my head. I looked up the significance of the number 316, and this was the best connection I could come up with.

 *At first I was a little disappointed that John’s note to Jack didn’t say more, but the more I thought about it, that one sentence said it all. Speaking of Locke, I never would have guessed his death would have been by his own hands.

 *I feel like Jack wasn’t the only one who was instructed and/or felt the need to replicate some of the occurrences of Oceanic 815. Sure he put his dad’s shoes on Locke, but Hurley was carrying a guitar (like Charlie was, was it Charlie’s?), Sayid was in police custody (like Kate) and after Kate and Jack’s “get-together,” could she possibly have some extra carry-on (like Claire)? These all could be coincidences, but coincidences are few and far between on this show.

 *Exchange of the night: Jack: “Is (Ben) telling the truth?” Eloise: “Probably not.”

 What did you all think of the show? Feel free to comment below. 

Do you have a comment, question or criticism for Joe? Contact him at thedytonian@yahoo.com.

Leave a Reply

