Joe Dyton

24 Recap: “1 p.m.-2 p.m”

In 24 on January 29, 2009 at 1:37 am

On Monday, we were treated to the sixth hour of “24,” and it didn’t disappoint. It wasn’t overly action packed, but it moved along well and there a few good twists to it. What surprised me the most was the storyline that had interested me the least, the first gentleman trying to figure out what really happened to his son, had me the most intrigued last night.

 

I think that is because none of the other stories left us hanging. I guess the closest would be Jack and Tony burying Agent Walker alive and wondering how she was going to make it. But I don’t think any of us thought that she was going to die before Jack had a chance to explain what he was doing. If they really wanted to sell it to us that Jack shot her, the camera should have given the audience the same view that Tony and Jack’s cronies had from the van, where all they saw was Jack pull the trigger and Renee fall face first into the ground.

 

The stuff with the Henry Taylor, Gedge and his late son’s fiancée, Samantha, however had me intrigued. After Gedge service agent poisoned him, I couldn’t help but wonder he would be able to get out of the situation without anyone getting hurt. Unfortunately, that wasn’t the case as Samantha and Gedge were both killed in the struggles. It’s amazing, that story went from being a snooze fest to having some of the best action of this young season. And, things will continue to get interesting as now Mr. Taylor has to explain why there are two dead bodies in that apartment. I wonder if he’ll be able to make it out of there alive.

 

As for the rest of the episode, I thought it was alright. I think things will really pick up once Tony and Jack deliver the Matobo’s to Dabuko. Speaking of which, I did love when Mrs. Matobo asked Chloe if she was with the F.B.I. and she replied, “No, I’m a stay-at-home mom.” Classic Chloe. As for Chloe and Bill, I’m not sure why, but I was totally caught off-guard when they pulled up and rescued Renee. I’m not sure why, or who I was expecting to get her out of there, but it wasn’t Bill and Chloe. Maybe I was surprised because I never saw Tony make the call telling them where she was. I might have missed, but I don’t think so.

 

And President Taylor is still unwilling to budge. I give her credit for not wanting to cower to Sangala’s demands. However, at some point, she has to reconsider, right? I was really shocked that those the two planes actually collided. I was for sure that either she’d cave, or the device would be recovered before any real damage was done. Then again, that’s the beauty of “24,” you never know what’s going to happen.

 

The only thing I didn’t like about Monday’s episode was how President Taylor’s advisors kept badgering her to change her mind. It’s one thing to make suggestions, but in the end, it’s her call. It got annoying when they kept questioning her. I didn’t blame her one bit for calling for Tim Woods’ resignation. Other than that, I thought this was a solid episode. I’m looking for even better things to come.

 

So, what did you all think of this episode? Do you feel “24” has improved greatly since the nightmare that was last season? Next week, Dubako has another two planes ready to collide, this time at a chemical plant in Ohio. Will Jack and Tony be able to stop him in time? Feel free to comment below!

 

Got a comment, question or criticism for Joe? Contact him at thedytonian@yahoo.com.

Leave a Reply

