Joe Dyton

“Gossip Girl” recap: O Brother, Where Bart Thou?

In Gossip Girl on December 9, 2008 at 4:02 pm

Last night, we treated to the final episode of “Gossip Girl” before the holiday break, and fortunately for us fans, we were left with a solid episode.

 

We didn’t have to wait very long to see if Bart survived the accident, did we? I actually preferred it that way. By establishing that he had passed away so early in the episode, we got to hit the ground running as far as getting into the plot. And there was plenty of stuff going on, so we needed the entire hour to get through it all. If any time had been wasted on wondering if Bart was going to make it, the other stories would have suffered.

 

The undisputed MVP of this episode was Chuck Bass himself, Ed Westwick. I thought he did a phenomenal job of showing a wide array of emotions. He played drunk, angry, depressed, manipulative and sympathetic all in one episode. I got a little extra kick in my step every time Chuck was on the screen last night. I thought it was a little unfair that he went after Dan at the funeral and blamed Rufus for his dad’s death. But like Blair said, he was upset and wasted and not really in his right mind.

 

Speaking of Blair, I thought she was great last night too. She was a wonderful caretaker for Chuck, who desperately needed one. Rufus told Dan that death brings some people together and pushes others apart, and Bart’s death definitely did the latter for Blair and Chuck. Blair even found the courage to tell Chuck that she did love him. It was heartbreaking that he didn’t say it back, but again everything Chuck did or said last night had to taken with a grain of salt. He was mourning the loss of his dad for crying out loud. I do wish that he had stuck around though. My heart broke for Blair when she woke up to him gone and a note lying in his place.

 

I might as well keep going with the positives from last night’s episode. I loved Cyrus’ carpe diem mentality when he asked Eleanor is she’d marry him the next day. I think Cyrus is good for Eleanor; he brings out more of her human and emotional side that we never saw before she started dating him. I like it even more that Blair has accepted him as part of the family. It was definitely, although predictably, touch and go when Eleanor brought him home. I loved the scene when Blair told Cyrus that she confessed her love for Chuck and he didn’t reciprocate, and Cyrus just gave her a hug and told her everything would be alright. It looked like Eleanor liked that moment too. I hope we’ll see more of Cyrus as the series goes along. If only I liked every branch of the Rose family tree….

 

I have to admit, I’m not a big fan of Cyrus’ son and Serena’s boyfriend, Aaron. He’s not a bad guy or anything, it’s just that he doesn’t bring anything to the table. He is kind of just there. I don’t sense any real chemistry between him and Serena. Maybe that will change after they get back from their Argentina getaway. I like her and Dan much better, but Serena’s right, they’ve tried to date twice, and failed, twice. Maybe some real time apart and dating other people is just what the doctor ordered.

 

Speaking of Dan, one of the most awkward scenes of the episode was when he and Aaron were waiting for Serena outside of the church. Was I the only one who thought the whole, “She texted me first” discussion was childish and absurd? It got even more awkward when she got there and greeted them both. Maybe I was reading too much into it, but it looked like she embraced Dan a little bit more than Aaron. Either way, I know Dan was trying to be a good friend, but he was better off letting Serena’s boyfriend be there for her at that moment.

 

And finally…

 

So the Lily’s big secret was she had Rufus’ child in a hospital in France and/or had an abortion? That’s it? There has to be more than that to it right? I mean, she wanted her mother to pay Bart’s P.I. whatever he wanted to keep this secret buried. I was so excited to find out what the big secret was, and felt a little underwhelmed when it turned out to be a love child. I’m holding out hope thought. This is “Gossip Girl” after all, there’s always more to every story.

 

So, that does it for “Gossip Girl” for 2008. What do think will happen when the show returns in January? Will Chuck return damaged as ever, or will he turn over a new leaf? Will Serena and Aaron still be together when they return from South America? Will Rufus and Lily ever get back together? Feel free to comment below!

 

Joe Dyton can be reached at thedytonian@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

